Issue: Sometimes when transferring ownership of Drive data in the Admin Console under Apps > Drive, or when deleting an user and choosing to transfer its Drive data, the transfer is incorrectly reported as failed. That is, the administrator receives an email containing the text: "The data transfer failed. The following services failed to transfer: ()." "Please retry the transfer: " and the originating user is now under the "Data transfer failed" section in the Users report, even though the transfer was in fact successful.
How to diagnose:
1. You received an email stating that the data transfer failed.
2. You confirmed that the originating user no longer owns any applicable items outside of the Trash folder by reviewing the user's results of the Drive search "owner:me -is:trashed":
- if you chose to include all owned items in the transfer (i.e. including data not shared with anyone), the results of the above search should show no items
- if you chose to exclude from the transfer data that is not shared with anyone, the results of the above search should show only items which are not shared with anyone
Initiate the transfer again. It should find that all files have been transferred and report success.
The rep mentions that this issue is not expected to be resolved in the near future and they're currently unable to provide a timeline.
They have addressed all of the outstanding issues with the Transfer Service that do not require a more involved comprehensive fix. They've determined such a large fix is of a lower priority and will address it at a later date.
Refer #7373 and Google case #13103031